• Enlarge photo
    Glorious Days (No. 4), ridden by Douglas Whyte, beats Bullish Champion (No.10) on the line to land the Chinese New Year Cup at Sha Tin Racecourse last year.

Catch On-track Thrills and Spills!

The day’s highlight will once again be the 1400m, Class 1 Chinese New Year Cup! Can anyone repeat the John Size-trained Glorious Day’s breathtaking on-the-line victory over Tony Cruz’s Bullish Champion to land the title last year?

The Chinese New Year Cup (Handicap) (12 February Chinese New Year Race Meeting Race 9) Race Card

Past Winners of the Chinese New Year Cup:

Season Horse No Horse Name Jockey Trainer Draw Draw
2011/12 4 GLORIOUS DAY D Whyte J Size 3 1.6
2010/11 1 SUNNY KING G Mosse J Moore 8 4
2009/10 7 FAIR TRADE B Prebble C Fownes 4 4
2008/09 6 REGENCY DRAGON C Soumillon D E Ferraris 1 6.1
2007/08 11 FULL OF JOY   H W Lai A Lee 12 23
2006/07 5 GOOD BA BA O Doleuze A Schutz 5 3
2005/06 5 JOYFUL WINNER C Soumillon J Moore 1 2.2
2004/05 1 SUPER KID D Whyte J Size 5 5.8
2003/04 6 FIGURES D Whyte D Oughton 5 4.3
2002/03 7 CENTURY STAR S Dye J Size 12 2.4
2001/02 2 ASIA RISING   D Whyte Y O Wong 2 3.7
2000/01 8 MERIDIAN STAR   C Brown D A Hayes 12 4.6
1999/00 6 CHAMPIONSHIP G Boss D A Hayes 4 16
1998/99 3 ORIENTAL EXPRESS E Saint-Martin I W Allan 1 4.1

Statistical analysis:

  • Horses which have achieved more than one win in this event so far seem to be the best bet. No. 6 horses have won the event three times, while horses marked 1, 5 and 7 have all triumphed twice.
  • Horses drawn in gates 5 and 12 have all chalked up three wins, while horses running from gate 1 and 4 have romped home first twice.
  • D. Whyte has taken home the Chinese New Year Cup four times, followed by C. Soumillon who has won the crown twice.


Follow us on The Hong Kong Jockey Club Facebook The Hong Kong Jockey Club Twitter The Hong Kong Jockey Club Weibo The Hong Kong Jockey Club Youtube Channel